Skip to main content

Ashtanga Yoga class in Crozon

Ashtanga yoga is a dynamic yoga, but above all a philosophical system that Krishnamacharya, Sage and Yogi developed after traveling in the Himalayas around 1916. For seven years he learned Ashtanga Yoga from Master Sri Ramamohan Brahmachari. In the 1930s he transmitted this knowledge to many Indian and Western students. Some of the best known include Sri K. Pattabhi Jois, BNS Iyengar, Indra Devi and his son TKV Desikachar.

Six series + two

Ashtanga consists of six series of asanas. In a series of asanas, the order is immutable. Between each posture is integrated a sequence called vinasa.

Eight limbs

Yama: external precept
Niyama: internal precept
Asana: postures
Pranayama: mastery of the vital breath
Pratyahara: withdrawal of the senses
Dharana: concentration
Dhyana: meditation
Samadhi: awakening

Mysore style

In India, in Mysore the student learns a series and practices independently in group lessons. The teacher can then adapt his teaching to each and correct the postures individually.

“the sequence does not change, but the student does change”

Leading class

This way of practicing consists of following an original and adaptive course. It’s very playful and it allows us to stay longer in posture.